STATE OF MINNESOTA IN SUPREME COURT

C7-00-100

ORDER ESTABLISHING THE MINNESOTA SUPREME COURT JURY TASK FORCE

AMENDED

WHEREAS, the effective functioning of the American jury is fundamental to the judicial process and to the public's confidence in the justice system;

WHEREAS, in recent years juries and jury trials have come under increasing scrutiny, study, and criticism relating to issues of representativeness, preparation for jury service or selection, treatment and compensation, juror comprehension of complex facts and of the law, use of technology for jury management and in jury trials, and in general, the justice system's responsiveness to the needs of jurors and juries;

WHEREAS, the Minnesota Judicial System recognizes the need to review periodically the state's jury system in order to strengthen the institution of the jury in Minnesota and increase public satisfaction with the jury system and jury service;

WHEREAS, in the summer of 1999, the Supreme Court contracted with the National Center for State Courts to evaluate the current state of the jury system in Minnesota;

WHEREAS, in August 1999, the Supreme Court appointed a Juror Compensation Workgroup to review the National Center for State Court's findings and recommendations;

WHEREAS, the Juror Compensation Workgroup issued a report in December 1999 and made recommendations for improvement and for further study.

NOW, THEREFORE, IT IS HEREBY ORDERED THAT the Minnesota Supreme Court Jury Task Force is established to study and make recommendations on:

- 1. Voir dire procedures and protocols;
- 2. Usage and need for sequestration in trials;
- 3. Post-verdict debriefing and protocols to address juror stress;
- 4. Juror privacy rules amendments;
- 5. Juror excusal policies;
- 6. In-court techniques such as juror note taking;
- 7. Trial management practices; and,
- 8. Other jury management issues that may impact juror utilization and treatment.

The Jury Task Force shall submit its recommendations to the Supreme Court by September of 2001.

IT IS FURTHER ORDERED THAT the Honorable William Walker is appointed as Chair of the Jury Task Force, and that the following persons are appointed as members:

Terri Bowman, Public Member Representative Sherry Broecker Jeffrey Bueche, Public Member Dave Carlson, Blue Earth County Court Administrator Joseph Carter, First District Public Defender Honorable Frederick Casey, Ninth Judicial District Edward Foley, Public Member Honorable Kathleen Gearin, Second Judicial District Don Gerdesmeier, D.R.I.V.E. Judy Gilbert, Dakota County Jury Manager Mark Haakinson, Ramsey County Jury Manager D. J. Hanson, Ninth Judicial District Administrator Patricia Hayes, Public Member John Himle, Public Member Mike Jesse, Benton County Attorney Sam Juncker, Tenth Judicial District Administrator Senator Randy Kelly Amy Klobuchar, Hennepin County Attorney Pat Kuka, Kandiyohi County Court Administrator John Levine, Attorney Honorable Dan Mabley, Fourth Judicial District William Mauzy, Attorney Honorable Anne McKinsey, Fourth Judicial District Vivian Jenkins Nelson, Intl. Institute for Interracial Interaction Dave Olson, Minnesota Chamber of Commerce Honorable John Oswald, Sixth Judicial District Honorable Norbert Smith, Fifth Judicial District Richard Solum, Attorney John Stanoch, Attorney General's Office Honorable William Walker, Seventh Judicial District

DATED: March **39**, 2000

BY THE COURT:

OFFICE OF APPELLATE COURTS

MAR 2 9 2000

Kathleen Blatz Chief Justice

FILED